The short answer
Quick picks
Ranked on published specs, not on play we have not done. Tap any row to jump to the full write-up further down this page.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Innova DISCatcher GO Portable Disc Golf Target The newest portable Innova target and the one whose numbers you can look up: the PDGA approved it at Basic level in 2026 and publishes every dimension, down to a 17.0 cm tray depth. | Best on the PDGA list | 8.3/10 | $129.99 · View on Amazon Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we make money |
| 2 | Innova DISCatcher Traveler Portable Disc Golf Basket Innova's own lightest target at a published 15 pounds, with 12 steel chains rather than the 6 or 8 a cheap practice basket uses, five legs, a mesh tray and a matching tote. | Best portable basket | 7.8/10 | |
| 3 | MVP Disc Sports Black Hole Pro 24-Chain Portable Basket Twenty-four chains in a 12 outer, 12 inner arrangement, PDGA approved at Basic level since 2016 — the portable target that has been on the list the longest. | Best chain assembly | 8.0/10 | |
| 4 | HIAARO Portable Disc Golf Basket, 16 Chains The cheapest folding basket here by a wide margin, from a maker with two targets on the PDGA list — though the listing never says which of them this is. | Best budget target | 6.4/10 | $89.99 · View on Amazon Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we make money |
Every other dimension question on this site is answered by a governing body that publishes a rule and leaves you to measure your own yard. Disc golf is the one category where the governing body goes further: the PDGA publishes the standard, and then publishes the measured figures for every target it has ever approved.
That makes a basket the most checkable purchase in this catalog, and it makes the typical product listing — which publishes a chain count and nothing else — look unusually thin.
The standard
What the PDGA actually fixes
| Element | Championship | Standard | Basic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rim height above grade | 82 cm, tolerance 6 | 82 cm, tolerance 6 | 82 cm, tolerance 6 |
| Basket opening, inside diameter | 66 cm, tolerance 4 | 66 cm, tolerance 4 | Not specified |
| Target zone height | 51 cm, tolerance 3 | 51 cm, tolerance 3 | Maximum 54 cm |
| Tray depth | Minimum 18 cm | Minimum 18 cm | Minimum 15 cm |
| Chains | Minimum 12 outer and 6 inner, or gaps no wider than 23 cm | Minimum 12 outer | Not specified |
| Deflection assembly | Required | Required | Not required |
| Radial symmetry | Minimum 12 reps | Minimum 6 reps | Not specified |
| Disc access | 360 degrees | 360 degrees | Not specified |
In US measurements the three headline numbers are a rim about 32.3 inches off the ground, an opening about 26 inches across, and a target zone about 20 inches tall. The tolerance matters as much as the figure: 82 cm plus or minus 6 means anything from 76 cm to 88 cm is inside the rule, which is a wider window than most buyers assume.
Basic, Standard, Championship
What the three approval levels mean
The levels are not quality grades in the marketing sense. They describe how closely a target reproduces tournament catching behavior.
Championship
The full specification: a deflection assembly above the basket, at least 12 outer and 6 inner chains, 360-degree access and twelve-fold radial symmetry. These are the permanent targets on a course, set in concrete.
Standard
The same dimensions and a deflection assembly, with a lower symmetry requirement of six reps and a simpler chain rule. Still a course-grade target rather than a garden one.
Basic
No deflection assembly required, no chain minimum, and a shallower tray allowed at 15 cm. This is the level every genuinely portable basket sits at, and it is not a criticism — a folding target that packs into a bag cannot carry a deflection assembly.
The measured figures
Every portable basket, against the standard
| Target | Level | Rim height | Target zone | Tray depth | Chains |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Innova DISCatcher Traveler | Basic, 2005 | 85.0 cm | 50.0 cm | 35.5 cm | 12 inner |
| Innova DISCatcher GO | Basic, 2026 | 82.4 cm | 48.7 cm | 17.0 cm | 12 outer, 12 inner |
| MVP Black Hole Pro | Basic, 2016 | 80.0 cm | 46.0 cm | 16.4 cm | 12 outer, 12 inner |
| Dynamic Discs Veteran (course basket) | Championship, 2021 | 82.0 cm | 48.2 cm | 22.4 cm | 14 outer, 14 inner |
| PDGA requires | — | 82 cm, tolerance 6 | 51 cm, tolerance 3 | Min 18 cm | Min 12 outer, 6 inner |
Read the rim height row first, because it is the one that affects your putting stroke, and all four targets are inside the rule. A backyard basket does not teach you a wrong height — every one of these catches within a few centimeters of a course target.
The reason, per model
Why every portable basket is a Basic target
Each of the three portables misses Standard for a different and specific reason, and the PDGA figures show exactly which.
- DISCatcher GO — tray depth. At 17.0 cm it is one centimeter short of the 18 cm floor for Standard and Championship. Everything else about it is inside the rule.
- Black Hole Pro — depth and target zone. A 16.4 cm tray is under the 18 cm minimum, and its 46.0 cm target zone falls below the 48 cm bottom edge of the 51-plus-or-minus-3 window.
- DISCatcher Traveler — symmetry. Its tray is deep at 35.5 cm, deeper than the Championship basket in the table above. What it does not have is the radial symmetry: five reps against the six that Standard requires.
The practical read: the Traveler catches deep but is built in five segments rather than six; the GO is the closest of the three to the full specification; and the Black Hole Pro sits lowest, so a putt that just clears its rim would have needed a little more height on a course.
Buying on it
What this means for a backyard
Height is the spec that transfers
Putting is the part of disc golf a garden genuinely supports, and putting is muscle memory for a catching height. Any target inside the 76 to 88 cm window trains the right stroke. All three portables here are.
Depth is the spec that decides frustration
A shallow tray spits back putts that a course basket would keep. If you are choosing between the three on one number, the Traveler's 35.5 cm tray is the outlier in your favor — it is deeper than the Championship basket in the table.
Chains are the spec the listings actually publish
Which is why our baskets roundup is built on chain count: until you check the PDGA list, it is often the only figure available. Now that the list is in front of you, treat it as the second question rather than the first.
For what to throw at the target, see disc golf discs, and for what a garden can and cannot teach, see disc golf basics for a backyard.
Footprint
How much room a basket needs
The PDGA publishes dimensions for the target and says nothing about the space around it, because a course hole is defined by its tee and its terrain rather than by a rectangle. In a garden the working number is the putt you want to practice.
- Circle 1 putting — inside 10 meters, about 33 feet — is the range most players practice most, and it is the range a large lawn can hold.
- Short putting at 5 to 8 meters works in a modest yard and is where a basket earns its money on repetition.
- Approach and drive need a course. A driver in a suburban garden is a broken window, which is the honest limit covered in the basics guide.
A basket also wants a backstop — a hedge, a fence, a net — behind it, because the shots that miss are the ones that travel. Compare that footprint against the rest of the catalog in how much space do yard games need.
The picks in full
Every pick, with its published specs
Best on the PDGA list
Innova DISCatcher GO Portable Disc Golf Target
Innova

Our spec score
8.3/10
- Spec completeness
- 9/10
- Footprint clarity
- 8/10
- Durability
- 7/10
- Pack-down
- 7/10
Scored on published specifications only. We have not played this set.
The newest portable Innova target and the one whose numbers you can look up: the PDGA approved it at Basic level in 2026 and publishes every dimension, down to a 17.0 cm tray depth.
Skip this if
Skip this if you want a target that plays like a course basket. At 17.0 cm deep it sits below the 18 cm minimum the PDGA sets for its Standard and Championship levels, which is exactly why it is a Basic target.
What works
- On the PDGA approved target list, so the badge on the box can be checked rather than trusted
- Every dimension is published by the PDGA, which almost no portable basket manages
- 24 chains in total is a real catching assembly, not a token one
- Carrying bag included, so it is genuinely portable rather than nominally portable
What does not
- Basic approval, not Standard or Championship — a 17.0 cm tray is below the 18 cm those levels require
- Innova does not publish a set weight, which is the figure that decides whether you carry it to a park
- Approved dimensions describe the target, not how fast it goes up
Published specifications
- PDGA approval
- Approved, Basic level
- Approval date
- May 25, 2026
- Height above ground
- 82.4 cm (about 32.4 in)
- Target zone height
- 48.7 cm (about 19.2 in)
- Inside diameter
- 64.1 cm (about 25.2 in)
- Tray depth
- 17.0 cm (about 6.7 in)
- Chains
- 12 outer, 12 inner
- Carry
- Carrying bag included
- Weight
- —
- Assembly time
- —
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: Amazon product listing
Not published by the manufacturer.
Not published by the manufacturer.
Manufacturer listing: PDGA approved target specification
Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we make money
Best portable basket
Innova DISCatcher Traveler Portable Disc Golf Basket
Innova

Our spec score
7.8/10
- Spec completeness
- 7/10
- Footprint clarity
- 3/10
- Durability
- 8/10
- Pack-down
- 7/10
Scored on published specifications only. We have not played this set.
Innova's own lightest target at a published 15 pounds, with 12 steel chains rather than the 6 or 8 a cheap practice basket uses, five legs, a mesh tray and a matching tote.
Skip this if
Skip this if you expected a permanent hole. A Traveler is a target you carry out and carry back; it has anchor rings and stakes because a 15-pound basket on five legs is not something you leave in a windy yard.
What works
- 12 chains is the spec that separates a real target from a practice hoop — a thin chain set spits discs out
- Published 15 lb weight, so you know what the walk to the park costs
- Anchor rings and stakes are published as included, which matters because this is a light basket
- One-action setup, and it folds into its own tote
What does not
- Innova publishes no height for the Traveler, so you cannot confirm it matches the permanent baskets you practice against
- No published PDGA approval for this target, unlike Innova's own discs
- 15 lb is light for a basket and heavy for a bag — it is the one disc golf purchase that needs planning
Published specifications
- Weight
- 15 lb
- Chains
- 12 steel chains
- Legs
- Five
- Basket tray
- Lightweight, quick-drying mesh fabric, extra wide
- Flag
- Removable flag included
- Anchoring
- Anchor rings with included anchor stakes for uneven surfaces
- Setup
- Stated simple one-action set up
- Carry
- Matching tote bag included
- Colors
- Yellow, red, blue (subject to availability)
- Height above ground
- 85.0 cm (about 33.5 in)
- Target zone height
- 50.0 cm (about 19.7 in)
- Tray depth
- 35.5 cm (about 14 in)
- Basket diameter
- —
- PDGA approval
- Approved, Basic level, since January 9, 2005
- Throwing distance
- —
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: Innova published set specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Not published by the manufacturer.
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Not published by the manufacturer.
Manufacturer listing: Innova published target specification
Best chain assembly
MVP Disc Sports Black Hole Pro 24-Chain Portable Basket
MVP Disc Sports

Our spec score
8.0/10
- Spec completeness
- 9/10
- Footprint clarity
- 7/10
- Durability
- 7/10
- Pack-down
- 6/10
Scored on published specifications only. We have not played this set.
Twenty-four chains in a 12 outer, 12 inner arrangement, PDGA approved at Basic level since 2016 — the portable target that has been on the list the longest.
Skip this if
Skip this if you want the ball to sit where a course target would. Its published target zone height of 46.0 cm is below the 48 cm floor the PDGA sets for Standard and Championship baskets, so putts land slightly lower than on a course.
What works
- Two full chain sets, inner and outer, which is what stops a fast putt passing through
- On the PDGA list since 2016, the longest track record of any portable here
- Every dimension published by the PDGA rather than by the seller
What does not
- The lowest target zone of the portables here at 46.0 cm, below the Standard and Championship floor
- Shallowest tray of the three at 16.4 cm, so discs bounce out more readily
- No published weight or carry bag on the listing
Published specifications
- PDGA approval
- Approved, Basic level
- Approval date
- April 21, 2016
- Height above ground
- 80.0 cm (about 31.5 in)
- Target zone height
- 46.0 cm (about 18.1 in)
- Inside diameter
- 62.5 cm (about 24.6 in)
- Tray depth
- 16.4 cm (about 6.5 in)
- Chains
- 12 outer, 12 inner
- Portability
- Portable target
- Weight
- —
- Carry bag
- —
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Source: Amazon product listing
Not published by the manufacturer.
Not published by the manufacturer.
Manufacturer listing: PDGA approved target specification
Best budget target
HIAARO Portable Disc Golf Basket, 16 Chains
HIAARO

Our spec score
6.4/10
- Spec completeness
- 2/10
- Footprint clarity
- 2/10
- Durability
- 5/10
- Pack-down
- 8/10
Scored on published specifications only. We have not played this set.
The cheapest folding basket here by a wide margin, from a maker with two targets on the PDGA list — though the listing never says which of them this is.
Skip this if
Skip this if the PDGA badge is the reason you are buying. HIAARO has two approved models, Hiaaro Port and Hiaaro Pro, and this listing names neither, so the claim cannot be matched to an entry before you buy.
What works
- By far the lowest cost route to a real chained target rather than a practice hoop
- Folds and ships with a bag, so it moves to a park
- 16 chains is a serious count for the money
What does not
- Publishes no dimension at all — not height, not diameter, not depth
- The PDGA badge cannot be checked against a model name, which is the whole point of the badge
- No published weight
Published specifications
- Chains
- 16 heavy duty chains
- Folding
- Foldable
- Carry
- Carry bag included
- PDGA approval
- Listing claims approval; HIAARO has two approved models and the listing names neither
- Height above ground
- —
- Target zone height
- —
- Inside diameter
- —
- Tray depth
- —
- Weight
- —
Source: Amazon product listing
Source: Amazon product listing
Source: Amazon product listing
Source: PDGA approved target specification
Not published by the manufacturer.
Not published by the manufacturer.
Not published by the manufacturer.
Not published by the manufacturer.
Not published by the manufacturer.
Manufacturer listing: Amazon product listing (HIAARO)
Price as of October 19, 2026. #ad How we make money
FAQ
Questions people actually ask
What are the official disc golf basket dimensions?
How tall is a disc golf basket in feet?
Are portable disc golf baskets PDGA approved?
Does a backyard basket have to be regulation size?
Why you can check our work
We have not played these. Every figure above is copied from a manufacturer's published listing or a governing body's published rules, and named so you can verify it. Where a maker publishes nothing, the field is blank rather than filled in. How we pick explains the whole method, including what would change a recommendation.
Read next
Related pages

Picks
Best disc golf basket
Chain count is what decides whether a basket catches — and the target is the purchase nobody warns you about.

Picks
Backyard disc golf
Three named PDGA-approved discs, what each one does, and the target you still have to solve.

Guide
Disc golf basics for a backyard
What each starter disc does, how to practise without a basket, and when a park is the answer.

Picks
Yard game guides
Rules, regulation dimensions, materials and storage — sourced from governing bodies and makers.

Picks
Best frisbee golf discs
Driver, mid-range and putter explained, and the PDGA-approved three-disc set to start with.
Sources
- PDGA — technical standards guidelines
- PDGA — approved targets list
- PDGA — DISCatcher GO approved target entry
- PDGA — DISCatcher Traveler approved target entry
- PDGA — Black Hole Pro approved target entry
- PDGA — Dynamic Discs Veteran approved target entry
Every figure on this page is copied from one of these sources. If you find one that is wrong or out of date, tell us and we will fix it.